About the Company

Who created Paxos Standard?

Paxos Standard (PAX) was created by Paxos, a financial technology company on a mission to modernize finance by mobilizing assets at the speed of the internet.

Paxos was the first virtual currency company to receive a charter from the New York State Department of Financial Services. As a chartered limited purpose trust company with fiduciary powers under the Banking Law, Paxos is able to offer regulated services in the crypto-asset and virtual commodities space.

The Paxos team comes from a wide variety of backgrounds with a diverse array of experiences ranging from Wall Street to Silicon Valley. It’s led by CEO and co-founder Charles Cascarilla, who has spent his career as a customer, analyst, investor and now creator of financial technology.


Why did Paxos create Paxos Standard?

Paxos Standard was built to improve the larger financial ecosystem, with the ultimate goal to create a frictionless global network, where assets can be mobilized, exchanged and settled seamlessly and instantaneously.

Paxos envisions a future where digital-assets, cash, commodities or securities can move anywhere at any time. As a US dollar-backed token, Paxos Standard can instantaneously settle the payment side of transactions.


About the Product

What is Paxos Standard?

Paxos Standard is a “stablecoin,” which has characteristics unique to digital assets, but without price volatility. Paxos Standard tokens are backed 1:1 by USD held in US bank accounts. It trades under the ticker symbol PAX on exchanges around the world.

Issued by the Paxos Trust Company and running on the Ethereum blockchain protocol, Paxos Standard offers increased speed, mobility, flexibility and accessibility for assets within the global financial system.


How is Paxos Standard different from other stablecoins?

While other stablecoins exist, none have been able to provide the functionality, sustainability and regulatory oversight that a reliable stablecoin needs. Paxos Standard has a number of distinguishing properties, including:

  • Regulation: Paxos Standard is issued by Paxos Trust Company, a financial institution that is overseen by its regulator, the New York State Department of Financial Services.
  • Guaranteed cash deposits: All cash deposits that collateralize Paxos Standard are held at U.S.-domiciled, FDIC-insured banks.
  • Audited: A nationally top-ranking auditing firm Withum performs month-end attestations on Paxos Standard bank accounts.
  • Security: Transaction monitoring and surveillance conducted by leading partners provides an additional layer of compliance oversight.
  • Daily purchase and redemption windows: Allows funds to be moved freely and frequently.
  • No fees: Because Paxos issues Paxos Standard tokens directly, it can offer no fees.

Who should use Paxos Standard?

  • Anyone with an Ethereum wallet (that supports ERC-20 tokens) can send or receive Paxos Standard tokens
  • Financial institutions and trading firms seeking a digital asset that can hedge against the volatility of other digital assets, or a way to settle transactions outside of traditional banking hours
  • Digital asset custodians and exchanges looking to provide the option of a regulated fiat-backed digital-asset as an alternative to current offerings
  • Individuals and merchants looking for a more efficient USD-based payments system than current incumbent offerings

What can Paxos Standard be used for today? What about in the future?

The crypto-asset space is early in maturation, and initial use cases for PAX will be distinct from future use cases.

Today, Paxos Standard can be used to limit exposure to crypto-asset volatility, to remove cross-border transaction fees and to move between crypto-assets with ease or as payment for other blockchain-based assets.

In the future, Paxos Standard can be used for consumer payments, offering a stable store of value for those outside the United States that face currencies with unpredictable volatility.


How does the price of Paxos Standard remain stable if it’s a crypto-asset?

Because Paxos Standard is fully collateralized 1:1 with USD in bank accounts, it is not susceptible to significant price fluctuations. Additionally, a third-party auditor ensures that dollar deposits match PAX tokens in circulation, so the collateralized status of Paxos Standard is never in question. Paxos Standard token will always have a redemption value of 1 PAX = $1 USD.

The number of PAX tokens in circulation will always exactly match the number of dollars in reserve, so the price ratio will always be 1:1.


Why does Paxos Standard use Ethereum?

Ethereum is a decentralized blockchain-based ledger that supports smart contracts, and is the most widely-used digital-asset platform. Paxos Standard follows the ERC-20 protocol, which is a standard for smart contracts on the Ethereum blockchain. The ERC-20 standard specifies a set of standard functions to manage transactions and track account balances. Some of the advantages of the Paxos Standard ERC-20 token are listed below:

High utility

  • Seamless wallet support and exchange integration. Any provider that has implemented ERC-20 code can support the token on their platform
  • An open network enables use-cases impossible on a closed network

Maximum end-user trust

  • Users do not have to trust a given exchange to hold their token
  • Reduced liquidity risk – each user can redeem from our regulated trust which publicly ensures they have enough cash on hand

Please note: In order to send and receive PAX, customers must have an Ethereum wallet that accepts ERC-20 tokens.


Is Paxos Standard a security under U.S. law?

No. We have consulted with our legal counsel and have concluded that Paxos Standard does not meet the definition of a security under either the Securities Act of 1933 or the Securities Exchange Act of 1934.


Where are customer funds kept?

Customer funds are held in segregated accounts at FDIC-insured, U.S.-domiciled banks.


Is Paxos Standard audited?

Yes, nationally top-ranking auditing firm Withum performs attestations (using standards established by the AICPA) on Paxos bank accounts holding dollar deposits and the PAX tokens on a month-end basis to further enhance the transparency of the token. You can access every attestation report here: https://www.paxos.com/standard/attestations


Is there a cap on how many Paxos Standard tokens will be created?

No, there is no cap on the number of Paxos Standard tokens that Paxos can generate. Paxos Standard tokens are only created when dollars are deposited. They only exist when dollars are in custody. When Paxos Standard tokens are redeemed for cash, the tokens are immediately destroyed.

Tokens can be purchased or redeemed only on a 1:1 basis with USD.


Are there fees for using Paxos Standard?

Paxos charges no fees.
*Please note that customer banks may charge a fee for initiating a wire deposit or receiving a wire deposit. Paxos reserves the right to make changes to the fee structure at any time.

There is a $100 PAX minimum conversion requirement.


What is the Ethereum address of the Paxos Standard smart contract?

0x8e870d67f660d95d5be530380d0ec0bd388289e1


After I initiate a transaction, how long will it take to go through?

If you are sending PAX from one Ethereum wallet to another, the transaction should go through nearly immediately.

PAX conversions and fiat deposits/withdrawals are all processed by Paxos regularly according to the processing schedule. (These transactions are not processed automatically because Paxos holds all crypto assets in cold wallets for maximum storage security.)


What is the purchase, conversion, deposit and withdrawal processing schedule?

Monday through Friday

Fiat Deposits

Processed hourly throughout US business days

Fiat Withdrawals

11am SGT / 10pm ET (bank instructed by 12pm SGT / 11pm ET)

2pm SGT / 1am ET (bank instructed by 3pm SGT / 2am ET)

12am SGT / 11am ET (bank instructed by 1am SGT / 12pm ET)

3am SGT / 2pm ET (bank instructed by 4am SGT / 3pm ET)

Monday – Friday Purchases

9am SGT / 8pm ET^ (broadcasted to blockchain by 11am SGT / 10pm ET^)

12pm SGT / 11pm ET^ (broadcasted to blockchain by 2pm SGT / 1am ET)

4pm SGT / 3am ET  (broadcasted to blockchain by 6pm SGT / 5am ET)

10pm SGT / 9am ET(broadcasted to blockchain by 12am SGT / 11am ET)

1am SGT / 12pm ET (broadcasted to blockchain by 3am SGT / 2pm ET)

5am SGT / 4pm ET (broadcasted to blockchain by 7am SGT / 6pm ET)

Monday – Friday Redemptions

5am SGT / 4pm ET (broadcasted to blockchain by 7am SGT / 6pm ET)

Saturday (Purchases)*

12am SGT / 11am ET (broadcasted to blockchain by 2am SGT / 1pm ET)

Sunday (Purchases)*

11am SGT / 10pm ET^ (broadcasted to blockchain by 1pm SGT / 12am ET^)

*Minimum per transaction: $50,000

^Prior day ET


Is the smart contract code publicly available?

The Paxos Standard ERC-20 contract code is available for technical review at https://github.com/paxosglobal/pax-contracts. Anyone can verify that the code will operate as Paxos intends. Because of the simplicity of the one-to-one model, Paxos Standard can be represented in a simple, readable smart contract. This contract code has been audited by an independent third-party smart contract security auditor. Read the audit here.


Some of your code is labeled LawEnforcement. Does law enforcement have direct access to your code?

No, Paxos will never give law enforcement control of the smart contract private keys, which are held by Paxos in high security.

We have the ability to freeze and seize tokens, and we have labeled the related code to make it clear that we would only utilize this functionality if required to by law. Illegal activity is strictly prohibited. Please see our policy for more information.


Is Paxos running any airdrop promotions through Telegram?

No, Paxos is not running any airdrop promotions anywhere at this time. Paxos Standard does not have a group on Telegram at this time. You can follow the official Paxos Standard Telegram channel at https://t.me/PaxosStandard.

 


Why is Paxos Standard (PAX) not trading at exactly $1 USD on other exchanges?

Prices on external trading venues will vary based on the supply and demand dynamics of any given platform at that particular moment in time. We can expect prices for USD-backed stablecoins to vary from 0.99 to 1.01 based on the liquidity profile and trading commission structure of each exchange.

To get the most exact price, go directly to www.paxos.com where the price of PAX will always be exactly 1:1 with USD. Paxos customers can purchase or redeem PAX 1:1 to USD 7 days a week.